Speicherstadt, Hamburg

speicherstadt

 

     I’ve always liked to think that all the faces and the places we accidentally glance at on our way to anywhere must stay deep at the bottom of our eyes. That even if our memory can’t contain information about all those noses, the mouths, the buildings’ facades we have seen, they still inhabit some inaccessible unconscious place. I like to think my smile lives on somewhere in the eyes of the red-haired toddler who stared at me on the metro, in those of the old lady disapprovingly looking at my phone as I was crossing the street, in the shiny blue irises of the banker who just helped me pay my rent. And I like, at times, to challenge that forgetfulness and move those places and faces we randomly get to see, move them into a space where they can consciously affect our perceptions and ideas. So I adjust shutter speed and aperture, and shoot.

6 thoughts on “Speicherstadt, Hamburg

  1. Walking along the piers alone seeing others all happy or sometimes sad with the wind grazing your side is also a feeling hamburg can provide. It might be better in the Rivera but the chill the North Sea provides is rather unique.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment